PodQuest

This is exactly what I’ve been looking for. A WebQuest About Podcasts. I am making a scaled down version to use in the computer lab with students so I was looking for examples just like this to use as a basis for my own. If anyone asks me about podcasting I will now direct them to my Listening to Podcasts podcast and then suggest they try this PodQuest by Bernie Dodge. Comparing podcasts is really the best way to learn about them. It’s also a great way to collect ideas for your own podcast. When I was working with 5th graders on their first podcast I captured their interest when I shared podcasts made by students their own age. My students used an evaluation sheet to assess these podcasts in several key areas. It was a very useful activity. It made podcasts more concrete and gave the students some good models to emulate and some bad examples to avoid in their own work.

In his WebQuest About Podcasts, Bernie Dodge writes:

“The Task

To develop great podcasts, you need to develop a thorough understanding of the different possibilities open to you. One way for you to get there is to critically analyze a number of examples and discuss them from multiple perspectives. That’s your task in this exercise.

By the end of this lesson, you and your group will answer these questions:

  1. Which two of example podcasts listed below are the best ones? Why?
  2. Which two are the worst? Why?
  3. What do best and worst mean to you?

tags:
, , , , ,,

Leave a comment