Still Grinning from Ear to Ear

You’ll never guess why I’m so tickled. You may even suppose it’s due to the Google Earth Ancient Rome announcement. If you haven’t heard yet, the winners of the recent competition were announced today and Jen Wagner and I won for the work we did as a team preparing a 3rd grade lesson plan to incorporate the Ancient Rome layer into the curriculum. Actually that is part of the reason I’m smiling, but allow me to share the second reason and you will be grinning too! allanah_smartgrid

Allanah K from Australia posted Augmented Reality on the 7th of March about a unique holographic experience involving your web cam, a website, and a printed pdf file. What appears in her video example seems to be an optical illusion. I thought it was going to make me feel foolish (of course I tried it anyway) and it turns out to be a truly unexpected treat for your brain. It unlocks your carefully guarded sense of wonder. I have Allanah to thank for introducing me to the GE SmartGrid experience. I can’t wait to share it with my class tomorrow. It only takes a minute but it makes a long lasting impression.

7 Responses to “Still Grinning from Ear to Ear”

  1. JenWagner Says:

    Still not believing it………tried it, it worked……….still mystified and clapping!!! WOW.

  2. Heather Says:

    That is awesome!! I just shared it with my tech team!! And I took a screen shot of myself for proof!!

  3. Lynn Welles Says:

    I can’t wait to try this tomorrow! I’ll have to get on my mac. I followed the links to the videos – looks awesome.

  4. ripplingpond Says:

    Heather and Jen,
    Glad you got a kick out of it too! Lynn, write back after you try it.
    Kathy

  5. Allanah King Says:

    Isn’t the web cam reality just such a clever thing.

    One thing though- I am from New Zealand- not Australia. We play Australia at rugby and we beat them. Would hate to give them credit for anything clever.

    We only let kiwis be Australian when they mess up!

    🙂

  6. ripplingpond Says:

    Oh, Sorry Allanah, Yes, NEW ZEALAND!! GO KIWIS!!!!

    I was wondering…Is that the Harbor Bridge behind you in your profile picture?

  7. Lynn Welles Says:

    Very cool! I played with it for several minutes. Incredible what can be done with technology. This is light years ahead of me!

Leave a Reply

