Do you share my pet peeve? No Subject.

Like most people I am inundated with email throughout the day. In order to filter through the list I make a mental note of the author and the subject to determine the level of urgency. Of course if the email is marked ‘urgent!’ I open it immediately. Next I open any items I’ve been expecting, followed by those unexpected notes from unexpected notables. On the very bottom of my list are people who omit the subject! This is my pet peeve. People who do this generally don’t feel the need to enter the subject. I really don’t know why they don’t see the need for a suject! You see often, their messages could fit in full in the subject area! It would save me and others a lot of time if they would omit the content and fill in the subject area only! Am I being unreasonable to expect the courtesy of a subject?

no subject

Do others share my frustration? Is there any webetiquette standard here?

tags:
, , , , ,

2 Responses to “Do you share my pet peeve? No Subject.”

  1. ripplingpond Says:

    Here is a little page to chew on from the Queens University Computer Science Department: http://www.cs.queensu.ca/FAQs/email/etiquette.html
    Ok, so the source code indicates a date of 1997 but perhaps the message, found under Subject, is timeless.

  2. cartoonsbysheila Says:

    I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
    Cheers, Sheila

Leave a Reply

